High School Page Banner
High School Page Banner

High School Ministry

This year, all our high school ministry events take place on Sundays (with just one or two exceptions)! We get together every Sunday morning from 9:15-10:15 am for Bible study and gather every Sunday evening from 7-9 pm and do a variety of things. Here is what we do together in high school ministry...

CONNECT... and build relationships with other teenagers

Two Sunday nights a month are CONNECT events. CONNECT events are fun, laid back, and will give you a lot of time with your friends! One night a month we’ll do things like messy games, bowling, movie nights, theme nights, mini golf and more. (You can see some pictures from past CONNECT events here.)

The second night a month is an open cafe where you can come and hang out - no agenda. Bring homework, play some Wii or a board game, or just catch up with friends. We hope our CONNECT times will be an easy, non-intimidating way for you to check out youth ministry if you are new or less involved. CONNECT events are also great opportunities to invite your friends from outside Zion along!

LEARN... about who God is and what He has done

LEARN is the time we set aside for Bible study at Zion on Sunday mornings, 9:15-10:15 am. It's a great opportunity for you to learn from God’s Word and explore how it connects to your life today. Currently we are working through a DVD series called "True U: Who Is Jesus?" You can watch a preview video here.

GROW... as a follower of Jesus Christ

Two Sunday nights a month our GROW groups meet. GROW groups are a space to build deeper relationships with, be encouraged, and be challenged by same-gender peers and adult mentors from Zion. We hope to have natural, authentic conversations about faith and what it means to live as a follower of Jesus while we have fun together! There is currently a group for high school girls and a separate group for high school guys that will meet at the same time.

IMPACT... our church, city and world in Jesus' name

*This is the only exception to our gathering on Sundays!* Several times a semester we bring middle and high school students together with their FAMILIES to serve others. IMPACT events are a great way to get outside the places we usually go, see some of the needs of people around us, and do something to help in Jesus’ name. We serve locally during the school year (although some projects have a global impact!), and in the summer we have opportunities to travel a bit farther to serve!

Youth Choir

Learn more about Zion's youth choir here. Youth Choir meets from 7-8 pm on Sunday nights, so if you'd like to be involved in youth choir just join in with our high school ministry when choir is finished at 8! 

 

Fall Calendar

*Learn Bible study is every Sunday from 9:15-10:15 am!

Sunday, January 15, 7-9 pm: CONNECT open Cafe

Sunday, January 22, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, January 29, 7-9 pm: CONNECT

SATURDAY, February 4, 8-10 am: FUNDRAISER Applebee's Flapjack Fundraiser

Sunday, February 5, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, February 12, 7-9 pm: CONNECT open cafe

SATURDAY, February 18, 1-3:30 pm: IMPACT North Texas Food Bank

Sunday, February 19, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, February 26, 7-9 pm: CONNECT

Sunday, March 5, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, March 12, 7-9 pm: CONNECT open cafe

Sunday, March 19, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

SATURDAY, March 25, 9-11 am: IMPACT Shoes for Orphan Souls

Sunday, March 26, 7-9 pm: No High School Ministry

SATURDAY, April 1, 1-3 pm: FUNDRAISER Bake-off and Concessions at Spring Festival

Sunday, April 2, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

SATURDAY, April 8, 6 am-1 pm: IMPACT Zion Work Day

Sunday, April 9, 7-9 pm: CONNECT open cafe

Sunday, April 16: No High School Ministry (Easter)

Sunday, April 23, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, April 30, 4-6 pm: CONNECT Case for Christ Movie, Northpark AMC

Sunday, May 7, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Saturday, May 13, 10 am-12 pm: IMPACT Make VBS Decorations

Sunday, May 14, 7-9 pm: CONNECT open cafe

Sunday, May 21, 7-9 pm: GROW (guys and girls)

Sunday, May 28, 7-9 pm: CONNECT

Saturday, June 3, 10 am-12 pm: IMPACT VBS Volunteer Meeting

June 19-23, 8:30 am-12 pm: IMPACT Volunteer for VBS

Downloadable Calendar